2 SC Nominees Endorsed By Parliament


THE APPOINTMENTS Committee of Parliament has recommended to the House by consensus to approve two out of the four Supreme Court nominees for appointment as justices to the apex court.

According to the report of the Appointments Committee, the Justices are Barbara Frances Ackah-Yensu and Samuel Kwame Adibu Asiedu.

They were nominated by President Nana Akufo-Addo alongside Justice George Kingsley Koomson from the Court of Appeal, and Justice Ernest Yao Gaewu, a High Court judge, for confirmation by Parliament.

In a primetime announcement on July 26, 2022, Speaker Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin, reading a communication from the presidency, said President Akufo-Addo explained that the appointment was as a result of pending and projected vacancies at the Supreme Court this year.

The Speaker said the letter of the President also indicated that the Judicial Council advised him (President) on July 4, 2022 by a letter under the hand of its Chairperson, Chief Justice Annin Yeboah, of the suitability of his nominations for appointment to the court for the named persons in accordance with Article 144 Clause 2 of the Constitution of the Republic.

“Upon receipt of the Judicial Council’s advice and in accordance with my duty under Article 144 Clause 2, I consulted the Council of State by submitting the names and curriculum vitae of the nominees for appointment to the court,” the Speaker quoted the President as saying.

“The Council of State has, by a letter dated July 25, 2022, notified me of the successful completion of the consultation process,” President Akufo-Addo reportedly said.

“I am therefore, in accordance with Article 144 Clause 2, seeking the approval of Parliament for the appointment of the nominees as justices of the Supreme Court.

“Their CVs are hereby attached. I am fully satisfied that each of these persons is duly qualified and eminently fit to discharge the functions of a justice of the Supreme Court,” the correspondence intimated.

Speaker Bagbin said the President had asked the House to expeditiously proceed with the approval of the nominees to enable them assume office as soon as practicable.

Mr. Bagbin consequently referred the nominees to the Appointments Committee for consideration and report to the House.

After subjecting all the justices to public hearing, the Appointments Committee’s report, which was laid in the House yesterday, was silent on Justice George Kingsley Koomson and Justice Ernest Yao Gaewu.

DAILY GUIDE gathered that some members on the committee, particularly the Minority, had kicked against their nominations to the Supreme Court, tagging one of them as an NPP man and the other as having issues to deal with, regarding the Ejura Committee.


BY Ernest Kofi Adu, Parliament House