2022 RTP Awards Unveils Nominees

Big Events Ghana, organisers of the annual Radio and Television Personality (RTP) Awards, has officially released the nominees list and categories for this year’s edition of the awards.

The nominees list for over 45 categories which was released last Thursday, saw some of Ghana’s biggest names in the media space compete in the various categories for awards.

Now in their 12th year, the awards were established to recognise and celebrate outstanding media personalities who exhibit exemplary leadership towards building a vision and a future for Ghana’s media platform.

It also awards media institutions and programmes that have demonstrated an outstanding track record and impacted on society during the year under review.

The 2022 RTP Awards promises to be bigger and much rewarding to the nominees, those whose hard work wins them award(s) and the patrons to the event.

This year’s awards will honour personalities in various categories, including the coveted RTP Personality of the Year, TV Female Entertainment Show Host of the Year, TV Male Entertainment Show Host of the Year, TV Female Newscaster of the Year, TV Male Newscaster of the Year, among others.

BEATWAVES gathered that eight celebrated radio and television personalities such as Randy Abbey – Metro TV, Stacy Amoateng – Platinum Network, Bernard Avle – Citi FM, Nana Aba Anamoah – GHOne TV, Johnnie Hughes – TV3, Abeiku Aggrey Santana – Okay FM, Agyemang Prempeh – Power FM, Giovanni Caleb – TV3 have been nominated for the RTP Personality of the Year.

Personalities nominated for TV Female Entertainment Show Host of the Year include Mz Dru – Mx24 TV, Akua Amoakowaa – Adom TV, Chrystal Kwame-Aryee – TV3, Xandy Kamel – Angel TV, Jackie Acquaye – GHOne TV, Anita Akuffo – TV3, Nana Ama Mcbrown – UTV, Doreen Avio – Joy News and Nana Yaa Tanoa Boakye – Metro TV.

Personalities such as Berla Mundi – TV3, Portia Gabor – TV3, Ms Nancy – TV3, Akumaa Mama Zimbi – Adom TV, Anim Addo – UTV, Stacy Amoateng – Platinum Network, Justice Danquah – ETV Ghana, Nana Aba Anamoah – GHOne TV        and Hannah-Lisa Tetteh – Joy News, secured nomination in the  TV Development Show Host of the Year.

Paul Adom Otchere – Metro TV, Bernard Avle – Citi TV, Nana Aba Anamoah — GHOne, Agya Kwabena — UTV, Samson Lardy Anyenini – Joy News, Francis Abban – GHOne TV and Annie Efua Ampofo – Metro TV have all been nominated  in the TV Current Affairs Show Host of the Year  category.

A number of radio and television personalities in Accra and other regions have also been nominated in various categories of the awards.

By George Clifford Owusu