Christopher Arthur Wins Agona West NPP Parliamentary Primary

Cynthia Morrison and Christopher Arthur


Christopher Arthur emerged winner of the Agona West New Patriotic Party (NPP) parliamentary primary held on Saturday, April 13.

He beat the incumbent Member of Parliament (MP) Cynthia Morrison to become the NPP Parliamentary Candidate for the constituency in the up-coming general election in December 2024.

Christopher Arthur polled 240 votes while Mrs Morrison garnered 152.

Ben Yamoah polled 221, Yawson Otoo also had 168 and Joseph Afrankwa grabbed 155 votes.

Supporters of Christopher Arthur were seen jubilating after the election held at a single voting centre located at Otabilkrom Astroturf, Agona Swedru.

Mrs Morrison won the Agona West seat during the 2016 general election. Two other candidates namely Charles Obeng-Inkoom of National Democratic Congress (NDC) and Evans Idan Coffie of Convention People’s Party (CPP) also contested in the 2016 by-election of the Agona West constituency held in 2016.

Mrs. Morrison won the election by obtaining 32,770 votes out of the 56,878 vote cast, representing 58.03 percent of the total valid votes.

2020 elections

She contested the 2020 general election as the parliamentary candidate for the New Patriotic Party and was elected for a second four-year term.

She polled 30,513 out of a total of 59,193 valid votes cast as against Paul Ofori-Amoah of the opposition National Democratic Congress who had 27,673 votes, and an Independent candidate Ishmael Kofi Tekyi Turkson had 1,007 votes.

A Daily Guide Report