Krowor Settles On Atta Gyimah

Atta Gyimah

DELEGATES OF the New Patriotic Party (NPP) at Krowor in the Greater Accra Region have re-elected Joseph Atta Gyimah as chairman of the party after a keen contest Thursday.

The election, which was scheduled to start at 9am, started at 2:00pm and ended in the early hours of Friday.

Out of the 1,121 delegates that voted, Joseph Atta Gyimah polled 545 to beat his closest competitor, Benjamin Dadzie, who polled 373 votes, followed by Nicholas Borlabi, who obtained 177. Two other contestants obtained less than 20 votes each.

Speaking in an interview with the DAILY GUIDE, Mr. Atta Gyimah expressed his gratitude to the delegates for reposing confidence in him once again. He pledged to continue working hard so the party can recapture the Krowor parliamentary seat from the NDC.

According to him, some divisions within the party at the constituency accounted for the loss of the seat to the NDC, though other factors played a part.

Such divisions, he stated, could only be addressed if members of the party united and forged ahead for victory in the 2024 general elections instead of resorting to internal bickering.

He said, “My vision, among others, as chairman, is to reunite the party once again and ensure that apart from winning the parliamentary seat, we also work to win the presidential election in 2024 as well. There is a sharp division amongst members of the party in the constituency which will not help us. Let’s not forget that, any group of people who are united can achieve whatever they set out to do and anytime Krowor is united, we are able to capture the seat.”

He, therefore, appealed to all members of the party, including past executives, not to harbour any ill-feeling against themselves but to come together and work toward winning the 2024 elections.

Mr. Atta Gyimah also dispelled rumours some of the constituency executives orchestrated the party’s defeat in the 2020 parliamentary elections.

The delegates also re-elected Enoch Boakye Yiadom as Secretary after polling 425 votes to beat his closest contender with a difference of 10 votes. Other executives elected were Kasim Mohammed, Assistant Secretary, and Enoch Afotey Mensah and Ayew Hammond as 1st and 2nd Vice Chairmen respectively.

The rest were Ayaaba Musah, Organiser; Caleb Nii Duamroh, Youth Organiser; while the Women’s Organiser went to Naa Adoley Wutah.  Others were Jane Kweku for Treasurer and Alidu Moro as the Nasara Coordinator.

The newly-elected executives were sworn into office moments after the declaration of the results by the Electoral Commission at 2am on Friday, May 7.


BY Ebenezer K. Amponsah