NPP Congratulates Gyakye Quayson, Thanks Assin North For Support


The New Patriotic Party (NPP) has congratulated James Gyakye Quayson, the MP-elect for the Assin North Constituency in the recent by-election.

In an official statement released Wednesday, June 28, 2023, the NPP expressed its appreciation to all party members and supporters who contributed to the party’s preparations for the by-election.

The statement highlighted the Party’s profound gratitude to President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, Vice President, and Mrs. Akosua Frema Osei-Opare, Chief of Staff, among others for their unwavering dedication and overwhelming support.

“It also acknowledged the efforts of all Ministers, Members of Parliament, Chief Executive Officers, Deputy Chief Executive Officers, MMDCEs, government appointees, and Party adherents for their diverse contributions towards the party’s efforts.

The NPP stated that it had diligently worked towards reclaiming the Assin North parliamentary seat but respected the decision and judgment of the people of the Constituency.

The Party commended the National Democratic Congress (NDC) on their electoral victory and added that the recent two by-elections demonstrated the strength of Ghana’s democracy, with outcomes favouring different political parties.

The Party also commended the security services for their joint efforts during and after the elections, despite the conduct of some personnel of the Ghana Police Service deployed to man the elections.

It further expressed gratitude to the Electoral Commission for ensuring a successful election.

In conclusion, the New Patriotic Party promised to collaborate with other political parties, key electoral stakeholders, and the people of Ghana to further enhance the practice of democracy in the country.

It urged party supporters to submit their comments and recommendations to the national secretariat of the party for consideration and possible implementation.

The statement was signed by Justin Kodua Frimpong, the General Secretary of the New Patriotic Party.


By Vincent Kubi