NPP Inaugurates Vetting Committee

NPP Vetting Committee Members


General Secretary of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Justin Kodua Frimpong, has inaugurated the Vetting Committee for the party’s presidential primary election at the NPP headquarters.

The nine-member committee is chaired by Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye, the immediate-past Speaker of Parliament, who was appointed Chairman by the National Steering Committee on behalf of the NPP’s National Council.

Other members are Kwasi Amoako-Atta, Minister for Roads and Highways; Osei Bonsu Amoah, Minister of State at the Ministry of Local Government, Decentralisation and Rural Development; Stephen Abankwa Sekyere; Lord Oblitey Commey; Frank Davis; Rita Talata Asobayire; Hackman Owusu-Agyeman; and Adelaide Ahwireng.

The NPP General Secretary said the party had also appointed Evans Nimako, Director for Research and Elections of the party, as Secretary for the Vetting Committee, while Mr. O.B. Amoah will be the Spokesperson.

He explained in a statement that the decision was in accordance with Article 10(3) (F) (ii) of the party’s Constitution.

He reiterated the need to uphold the party’s constitution and urged the committee members to ensure a free, fair and transparent vetting process.



The candidates set for the beginning on Monday, July 3, 2023 are Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, former Trade and Industry Minister Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen, Assin Central MP Kennedy Agyapong, Essikado-Ketan MP Joe Ghartey, and former Food and Agriculture Minister Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto are among the potential candidates.

Former Energy Minister Boakye Agyarko, former Regional Cooperation Minister Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku, former NPP General Secretary Kwabena Agyei Agyapong, former Mampong MP Francis Addai-Nimoh, and energy specialist Kojo Poku round out the list.

The Member of Parliament (MP) for Essikado-Ketan, Joe Ghartey, was the last to file his presidential nomination forms, with one of the aspirants for the NPP flagbearership, Nana Oppong Odeneho, pulling out of the race.

Before declaring his decision to withdraw from the contest to the NPP Election Committee, he had been voted down in the opinion of many.

Each of the aspirants paid GH¢300,000 as nomination fees in addition to meeting other requirements outlined by the party, after having paid GH¢50,000 each for the nomination forms.

Nominations were opened on May 26, 2023 and the NPP set June 24, 2023 as the final day for the official filing of nomination for all prospective candidates.


By Ernest Kofi Adu