NPP Okays Candidates For Elections

THE Election Committee of the ruling New Patriotic (NPP) has qualified 48 candidates for the national officers’ election slated for July 15 to 17, 2022 at the Accra Sports Stadium.

The successful candidates — six standing for National Chairman position, 10 for National Vice Chairman position, another six for General Secretary and the rest gunning for the Treasurer, Organiser, Women’s Organiser, Youth Organiser and Nasara Coordinator posts — took part in a drawing yesterday at the party’s headquarters in Accra, to determine their positions on the ballot.


For the Chairmanship race, Gifty Ama Asantewa Ayeh will occupy the top spot, and will be followed by Sammy Crabbe (2nd), Prof. Christopher Ameyaw-Ekumfi (3rd), Akwasi Osei-Adjei (4th), Stephen Ntim (5th), Joseph Ayikoi Otoo (6th), Stephen Asamoah Boateng (7th), and George Kwabena Abankwa-Yeboah (8th) in this order on voters’ ballots.

Vice Chairman

Ismael Yahuza will occupy the top spot on the ballot for the Vice Chairmanship race and will be followed by McJewels J. Annan (2nd), Danquah Smith Buttey (3rd), Rita Talata Asobayire (4th), and Edmond Peprah (5th) respectively. Kiston Akomeng Kissi took the 6th position, with Derek Kwaku Nkansah (7th), Michael Omari Wadie (8th), Nuworsu Ken-Wuud (9th), and Alhaji Masawudu Osman (10th) in that order.

General Secretary

For the General Secretary position, the incumbent, John Boadu, picked the number one slot, with Iddrisu Musah taking the 2nd position on the ballot.

Ramseyer Ahmed Agyeman-Prempeh picked the 3rd position on the ballot and he is followed by Charles Bissue (4th), Frederick Opare-Ansah (5th), and Justin Kodua Frimpong (6th) in that order.


Candidates for the Treasurer post will be listed in this order on the voters’ ballots: Eileen Mary Posch Oduro (1st), Dr. Charles Dwamena (2nd), Yussif Tedam (3rd), and Collins Nuamah (4th).

Candidates for the National Organiser position  will appear in this order on the ballot: Bright Essilfie-Kumi  (1st), Seth Adu-Adjei (2nd), Daniel Nii Kwartei Titus-Glover (3rd), Eric Amoako Twum (4th), Henry Nana Boakye (5th), and Nana Owusu Fordjour (6th).

Women’s Organiser

For the Women’s Organiser, Kate Gyamfua picked the 1st position, whilst Ellen Ama Daaku picked 2nd and Hajia Sawudatu Saeed picked 3rd position on the ballot.

Youth Organiser

Candidates for the Youth Organiser will appear on the ballot in this order: Abanga Fusani Yakubu (1st), Salam Mohammed Mustapha (2nd), Prince Kamal Gumah (3rd), and Michael Osei Boateng (4th).

Nasara Coordinator

Haruna Maiga picked the top slot of the ballot for the Nasara Coordinator position, and he will be followed by Abdul Rahman Diallo (2nd), Issaka Muaza Kunata (3rd), Awal Mohammed (4th), Sulemana Alhassan Atakpo (5th), Abdul Aziz Haruna Futa (6th), and Haruna Ismael (7th).

Now that the candidates know their positions on the ballots, the Election Committee may go ahead to print the notice of poll and the ballot papers for the various positions.

The balloting for positions for the national officers’ elections, which was supervised by the Electoral Commission, was held behind closed doors.

It is not clear whether the name-order will have any effects on the candidates, even though it has been suggested by some political scientists that candidates listed first enjoy favourable advantage.

By Ernest Kofi Adu

Tags: ,