NPP Opens Nominations For Agyarko’s Seat

The late Emmanuel Kyeremanteng Agyarko.

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) has opened nominations and set guidelines for the conduct of its parliamentary primary for the upcoming Ayawaso West Wuogon by-election.

The by-election became necessary following the death of the NPP Member of Parliament (MP) for the area, Emmanuel Kyeremanteng Agyarko.

Mr. Agyarko, a brother to sacked Minister of Energy, Boakgye Agyarko, died from gallbladder infection in the United States on November 21, this year.

The NPP has set GH¢1,000 as nomination fee and GH¢10,000, which is non-refundable, as filing fee.

However, female aspirants, as well as the youth and persons with special need, have been given a special dispensation of 50 per cent discount in respect of the filing fee.

Aspirants are required to pick nomination forms from the Ayawaso West Wuogon Constituency Secretary at the Constituency Office or the party’s headquarters between 7am and 5pm each day.

The party called for cooperation from all stakeholders in the conduct of the primary.

A statement issued by the General Secretary of the NPP, John Boadu, said the NPP shall, pursuant to Article 7(31) and 12(1) of its constitution, hold an Extraordinary Constituency Delegates’ Conference on December 29, 2018, in the Ayawaso West Wuogon Constituency to elect a parliamentary candidate for the upcoming by-election.

The statement explained that the party has instituted a five-member elections committee to be chaired by Peter Mac Manu to supervise the extraordinary constituency delegates’ conference.

Earlier, the NPP scribe indicated that about 24 people had expressed interest in vying for the vacant seat.
The race for the vacant seat appears to have intensified, as several candidates from both the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) and NPP are reportedly lacing their boots to contest the by-election.

So far, five aspirants, including actor John Dumelo, who was accused of stealing a V8 Toyota Land Cruiser belonging to the state, have picked forms to contest the NDC’s parliamentary primary for the Ayawaso West Wuogon Constituency.

The Electoral Commission (EC) is expected to hold the election on January 19, 2019, and the late MP is expected to be buried on January 26, the same year.

The NPP’s statement indicated that “the committee shall take charge of the by-election, including the sale of nomination forms and vetting of aspirants subject to guidelines approved by the party’s National Elections Committee (NEC) at its meeting on Thursday, December 20, 2018.”

According to the statement, per the guidelines, nominations shall open on Friday, December 21, 2018 and close on Saturday, December 22, 2018.

Prospective applicants shall file their nominations on Sunday, December 23, 2018, while vetting of candidates would be held on Monday, December 24, 2018, at the party’s headquarters.

By Melvin Tarlue