President Presents Charters To Two Universities

President Akufo-Addo Thursday presented presidential charters to the Pentecost University College, Accra, and All Nations University College, Koforidua.

The Charter grants the two universities the autonomy to award their own degrees and diploma certificates.

The Pentecost University was affiliated to the University of Ghana, Legon, the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST) and the University of Cape Coast, whilst the All Nations University takes its leanings from the KNUST and other universities in the USA, India and Japan.

At a ceremony at the Jubilee House, Accra, President Akufo-Addo stated that the two private universities had fulfilled the requirements to manage their own affairs as fully-fledged tertiary institutions.

He said the two institutions had passed the rigorous accreditation and quality assurance processes of the National Accreditation Board, and had established structures, which would enable them to forge ahead with minimum supervision in the management of their academic programmes.

Both private universities underwent a rigorous review of their curriculum, teaching and learning infrastructure, staff qualification and finances by the National Accreditation Board (NAB), resulting in the recommendation for the Charter.

Commending the two universities for their achievements over the past ten years, the President urged them to “continue to improve, and introduce more innovative programmes and courses that will equip their students with the requisite skills and competencies needed to develop our country and transform progressively the economy.”

“Continue to carve niche areas for yourselves, so as to help you differentiate yourselves from other tertiary education institutions,” he said.

President Akufo-Addo cautioned the two institutions that their activities would be closely monitored by the NAB, saying that the grant of a Charter, which could be suspended or revoked “does not relieve an institution of the obligation to operate only in facilities approved by the Board or to run only accredited programmes or courses.”