Bawumia Picks Kyei-Mensah To Chair NPP Manifesto

Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu (L) with Deputy, Afenyo-Markin and other members of the Majority Caucus


The flagbearer of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has set up a manifesto committee for the 2024 general election, which is chaired by former Majority Leader, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu.

Mr. Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu reportedly resigned as Majority Leader of the Eighth Parliament following a marathon meeting with President Akufo-Addo, members of the Majority Caucus and national officers of the NPP at the Jubilee House on Wednesday evening.

DAILY GUIDE gathered that at the meeting, Mr. Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, who is the MP for Suame, tendered his resignation and thanked the President and his fellow MPs for the opportunity to serve the party in Parliament.



According to sources, Mr. Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu stated at the meeting that he had served the party to the best of his ability and did not want to be the centre of the storm, so he was stepping down to allow unity and peace within the party’s ranks to successfully prosecute the ‘Breaking the 8 Agenda.’

“At this stage, I would want to inform Mr. President, the Members of Leadership, herein present, the leadership of the party, and all others, that I voluntarily declare my intent to step down as the Majority Leader before you my colleagues here and now in order to afford the Caucus the opportunity to choose their leader,” he purportedly indicated.


Committee Responsibility

Meanwhile, the Manifesto Committee has been tasked with conducting a comprehensive evaluation of the party’s 2016 and 2020 manifestos, as well as engaging all relevant stakeholders, in order to produce a pragmatic 2024 manifesto.

The Manifesto Committee is also responsible for carrying out its mandate efficiently and professionally in order to produce a comprehensive manifesto document that would stand the test of time in addressing legitimate concerns and socioeconomic difficulties of Ghanaians.

Other members of the NPP Manifesto Committee are Vincent Kojo Oppong Nkrumah (Vice Chairman) and Evron Hughes (Secretary).

Prof. Kwaku Appiah Adu and Dr. Isaac Owusu Mensah were appointed Coordinators of the Manifesto Committee, while Dr. Assibey Yeboah, Tony Oteng Gyasi, Kwadwo Nsafoah Poku and William Oppong-Bio were appointed chairs of the Manifesto Sub-Committees in charge of Economy, Trade and Industry, Energy and Petroleum, and Agriculture respectively.

The rest are Dr. Augustine Blay, Communication and Digitalisation; Dr. Gideon Boako, Lands, Minerals, and Natural Resources; Dr. Emmanuel Marfo, Science, Technology, Innovation, and Environment; Maxwell Opoku Agyeman, Legal and Governance; and Justina Marigold, Local Government.

Ing. Kwabena Agyapong will chair the Manifesto Sub-Committee in charge of Housing and Infrastructure, Hassan Tampuli in charge of Transport, Edward Asomani in charge of Security, Michael Oquaye Jnr in charge of Foreign Affairs, Asamoah Gyan in charge of Youth and Sports, Juliet Asante in charge of Tourism, Culture, and Creative Arts, and Ama Serwaa in charge of Gender, Kofi Dzamesi in charge of Chieftaincy, Religious Affairs and Civil Society.

The rest are Dr. Ayew Afriyie in charge of Health, and Dr. Prince Hamid Armah in charge of Education.

“The flagbearer counts on the cooperation of all stakeholders while we seek an historic victory in the 2024 Presidential and Parliamentary elections,” a statement signed by Dennis Miracles Aboagye, Director of Communications, indicated.


By Ernest Kofi Adu