NDC Not Ready To Lead Ghana– Ahiagbah

The Director of Communications for the New Patriotic Party (NPP) Richard Ahiagbah has lambasted the National Democratic Congress (NDC) of exhibiting antics to prove that they are alternative party to govern the nation.

This is as a result of the NDC earlier call on the Minority Caucus not to approve the ministerial nominees of President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.

Speaking on TV3 Saturday, March 25 while contributing to a discussion on the approval of the nominees, Ahiagbah indicated “The NDCs conduct shows they cannot be an alternative. There is a conduct that is associated with the NDC and that’s greed.”

Meanwhile, the NPP has commended its members in the Majority Caucus for voting massively to approve the nominees.

The party also applauded the National Democratic Congress (NDC) lawmakers who also voted in support of the nominees.

“Kudos to our gallant MPs for standing firmly behind the Government and ensuring that the President’s nominees for Ministers of State and Deputy Minister as well as for the Supreme Court Justices were approved! The nation is also grateful to the brave NDC MPs who stood for #GhanaFirst,” the party tweeted.

On Friday, March 24, Parliament approved all the ministerial nominees of President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo after a vote.

The Speaker, Alban S.K. Bagbin after the ballot on Friday March 24 said “Honourable Members, at long last collation of votes has ended. The register of 275 eligible voters, 3 voters were absent so 272 did exercise their franchise. The results of the voting are as follows; Honorable KT Hammond 154 Yes, 116 No, rejected 1, Bryan Acheampong, 167 Yes, 98 No, rejected 4, abstention 3. Stephen Asamoah Boateng 147 Yes, 122 No, 3 abstention. Mohammed Amin Adams 152 Yes, 117 No, rejected 1, abstention 2. Osei Bonsu Amoah 149 Yes, 120 No, abstention 3, Stephen Amoah 146 yes, 123 No, 3 absention.”

“The House has accordingly approved the nominations of the following persons as ministers and a deputy minister in accordance with 79(1) of the constitution.”

Parliament also approved the nomination of Justice George Kingsley Koomson and Justice Ernest Yao Gaewu, for appointment as Justices of the Supreme Court.

Justice Kingsley Koomson, had 139 “Yes” votes while 133 voted “No”. Justice Ernest Yao Gaewu also had 138 “Yes” votes and 134 “No” votes.

Prior to the vote there was heated exchanges regarding the report of the Appointments Committee on the recent vetting of the nominees.

While the Majority pressed home the demand for the report to be taken on Thursday evening, the Minority members on the Committee denied knowledge of the report, asking for more time to study it.

This led the House to suspend proceedings to allow the Minority Group study the 63-page report for the debate and the following day approving the nominees.

By Vincent Kubi