‘No Official Communication Received On UAE Travel Ban’

Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration has asked the public to disregard the information circulation in the media that the United Arab Emirates (UAE) has announced a visa ban on Ghana and 20 other countries seeking to travel to the UAE with immediate effect.

According to the Ministry, it has received no such communication from the authorities in the UAE and as such, the story should be disregarded.

The statement issued by the ministry was in response to news indicating that some countries including Ghana, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Cameroon, Nigeria, Liberia, Burundi, Republc of Guinea, the Gambia, Togo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Senegal, Benin, Ivory Coast, Congo, Rwanda, Burkina Faso, Guinea Bissau, Comoros, and the Dominican Republic have been affected by the visa ban.

The said publication assigned no reason for the ban, but social media sources alleged that it is aimed at keeping away visitors from African countries who usually overstay their visit visas in the UAE.

However, the Foreign Affairs Ministry said information available indicates that the UAE has reviewed the requirements for its tourist and visit visas.

“The revision of visa regimes and requirements includes the 30-day single entry visas have been put on hold; A 60-day multiple visa entry regime is currently in force, and Travellers to the UAE should secure a round-trip ticket and a hotel booking before the visa application.”

It thus urged the public to remain calm, and observe the new visa requirements put in place by the UAE.

By Jamila Akweley Okertchiri