Ntim Leads NPP Into 2024 As JFK Unseats JB


The newly elected National Chairman, Stephen Ntim.
Pictures by Gifty Ama Lawson

AFTER FOUR unsuccessful attempts, Stephen Ayesu Ntim, a management information systems engineer, was on Sunday, July 17, 2022, elected National Chairman of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), by 6,166 delegates who attended the party’s historic congress at the Ohene Djan Stadium in Accra.

He polled 4,014 of the valid votes cast to defeat former Director-General of the State Interests and Governance Authority (SIGA), Stephen Asamoah Boateng, who was the closest rival in the contest.

Mr. Asamoah Boateng, popularly known as Asabee, managed to secure 1,010 votes to place second, while Prof. Christopher Ameyaw-Ekumfi placed fourth with 101 votes to trail Kwabena Abankwa-Yeboah who secured 294 votes to place third at the congress which was coloured by deafening cheering sounds from the enthusiastic supporters of aspirants.


Justin Frimpong Kodua (JFK)

Justin Frimpong Kodua aka JFK, a relatively young man, caused the biggest upset of the day when he narrowly swept the General Secretary position with 2,837 votes to dethrone the incumbent, John Boadu, who placed second with 2,524 votes in the keenly contested election of the party.

Several political watchers had predicted a close contest, and the election lived up to its pre-congress billing as the two contestants split the votes, with other contestants trailing behind with miserable votes.

Iddrisu Musah polled 104 votes to secure the third position as Fredrick Opare-Ansah emerged fourth after securing 50 of the votes. Charles Bissue, who pulled out of the race, got 12 votes while Ramseyer Ahmed Agyeman-Prempeh attracted 8 votes to place fifth.

However, Stephen Ntim, who did not need to use powerful magic to vanquish rivals, also became the toast of the delegates for his perseverance, winning a landslide victory.

In all, 47 staunch party members vied for the various national positions to steer the affairs of the ruling NPP in the next four years, after Joseph Ayikoi Otoo, Charles Bissue and Akosua Serwaa Bonsu dropped out of the race a few weeks to the conference.


Danquah Smith

In the National Vice Chairman race, Danquah Smith emerged winner with 2,982 votes, followed by Rita Asobayire who bagged 2,927 and Alhaji Masawudu Osman with 2,128 votes.


Nana B

The National Organiser position was won by Henry Nana Boakye with 2,870 votes, followed by Daniel Nii Quartey Titus Glover who had 2,274 votes, while Eric Amoako Twum came third with 185 votes. Bright Essilfie Kumi followed in that order with 137 votes, as against Seth Adu-Adjei’s 25 votes, and Nana Owusu Fordjour’s 44 votes.


Dr. Charles Dwamena

The National Treasurer position went to Dr. Charles Dwamena after obtaining 2,917 of the valid votes cast, while closest rival, Collins Nuama had 1,197 votes to place second, and Ellen Mary Posch Oduro as well as Dr. Yussif Tedam secured 1,303 and 125 votes in that order.


Kate Gyamfua

Kate Gyamfua won the post of the National Women’s Organiser with 620 votes, as against 32 votes bagged by Hajia Sawudatu Seed and 9 votes by Ellen Ama Daaku.


Salam Mustapha

Abanga Yakubu Fusani crashed out in the contest for the National Youth Organiser that saw Salam Mustapha clinching victory by 255 votes.

Abanga Yakubu Fusani secured 153 votes, followed by Michael Osei Boateng with 120 votes, and Karikari Klinsman Mensah with 101 votes.


Abdul Aziz Haruna Futa

For the National Nasara Coordinator post, Abdul Aziz Hurana Futa won with 328 votes, whereas Alhaji Muazu Issaka Kunata secured 2 votes, Awal Mohammed polled 24 votes, Ishmael Haruna polled 199 votes, Sulemana Alhassan Atakpo secured 9 votes, Abdul Rahman Diallo had 2 votes, and Haruna Maiga polled 5 votes.


Victory Speech

In a short address after his triumph, Mr. Ntim said his election and that of other national officers were a leap into another victory for the NPP in 2024, pledging, on behalf of the new executives, their commitment to work assiduously for the party to break the eight-year election cycle.

There were spontaneous wild jubilations at the stadium immediately after the Director of Electoral Services at the Electoral Commission, Dr. Serebour Quaicoe, announced the results around 4:30am.

Clad in party colours, the supporters of the winners at the stadium were seen dancing together and shouting.



In attendance were party gurus drawn from various corners of the country; prominent among them were President Nana Akufo-Addo, Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, and Ministers of States, including Trade and Industry Minister, Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen as well as Members of Parliament.

Vice President Bawumia and Mr. Kyerematen were each accorded several pieces of applause as their names were mentioned prior to the polls.

President Akufo-Addo, in particular, set the stadium ablaze when he mounted the podium to give his address.

Representatives of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), Convention People’s Party (CPP), National Democratic Party (NDP), Progressive People’s Party (PPP) and others were also there to add glamour to the occasion.


Solidarity Messages

There were solidarity messages from the representatives of the political parties, with the NDC hard-hitting the ruling party.

The event, which started on Saturday morning, was organised under tight security, as armed police officers and soldiers made every effort to guarantee incident-free congress.

The conference, held under the theme, “Holding Together, Working Together,” was finally climaxed with swearing in of the new national officers by the outgoing National Chairman, Freddie Blay, inside the inner parameter of the stadium at about 4:30am.


TESCON, Proxies

Prior to the commencement of the polls, the Chairman of the NPP Election Committee, Peter Mac Manu, announced that they had been served with injunctions to stop the party’s student wing, the Tertiary Students Confederacy (TESCON), and local proxy voters from casting their ballots.

The over 300 members of the TESCON and proxy voters were therefore denied the opportunity to cast their votes.


BY Ernest Kofi Adu & Charles Takyi Boadu