Stonebwoy, Shatta Wale, Others For Nightlife Awards


The third edition of The Nightlife Awards (TNA) has been launched in Accra at an impressive media and industry soirée held at the exclusive Carbon Nightclub.

TNA is the only award scheme in Ghana which recognises and rewards the efforts of individuals, brands and businesses which play various roles in Ghana’s fast-growing nightlife industry.

The launch of this year’s edition was graced by all nightclub/bar owners, managers in the business, celebrities and the media.

Among them were Abeiku Santana, D-Black, DKB, Afia Schwarzenegger and many others.

In his address to officially launch the awards, Derick Addai-Darko, managing partner at Black Trace Company Limited, organisers of the awards, disclosed that the focus of this year’s edition is to create awareness on the massive tourism potential of the nightlife industry, as well as promote excellent service delivery and ingenuity in the business to put Ghana on the international map, especially as 2019 is earmarked as the ‘Year of Return’.

Abeiku Santana highlighted the importance of a thriving nightlife industry to Ghana’s tourism sector and added that it is necessary for such an award concept to be developed to ensure that industry players adhere to best practices.

He further stated that nightlife as an industry is capable of generating billions for government through local authorities, businessmen and entrepreneurs who venture into it.

TNA gala is set for July 27, where the nation’s deserving nightlife players will be awarded in 22 categories.

Categories for this year’s edition have been grouped into two? public voting and non-public voting.

The public voting categories will see awards given based solely on public voting.

Shatta Wale and Stonebwoy are also competing in the award following their fallout at the 2019 VGMA.

The two are competing in best club banger category with their songs ‘Kpo Keke’ and ‘My Level’. Other songs in the category are ‘Thunder’ by Kidi’, ‘Wish Me Well’ by Kuami Eugene, ‘Wiase Ye De’ by Quamina MP and ‘Do The Dance’ by Eddie Kha. The rest of the nominations are online.