Nana Appoints K.T., Bryan, Asabee In Reshuffle


PRESIDENT AKUFO-Addo has appointed seven new ministers and deputy ministers pending approval by Parliament.

The appointment was announced by the Speaker of Parliament, Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin, on the floor of the House yesterday, while reading communications from the Presidency.

He said President Akufo-Addo has appointed Kobina Tahir Hammond as the new Minister for Trade and Industry, as well as Bryan Acheampong as Minister for Food and Agriculture in a shake-up of his government.

K.T. Hammond, who is the Adansi-Asokwa NPP MP, will replace Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen, while Bryan Acheampong will replace Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto after their resignation.

Bryan was appointed and sworn in as the Minister of State, Office of the President, on April 4, 2017, and later assigned as Minister of State at the Ministry of the Interior on February 13, 2020.

Speaker Bagbin further announced that the President has also appointed Stephen Asamoah Boateng as Minister-designate for the Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs Ministry to replace Ebenezer Kojo Kum, who is the NPP MP for Ahanta West, after his abrupt resignation of his position on February 3, 2023.

He said President Akufo-Addo, in accordance with Article 78(1) of the Constitution, again nominated Dr. Mohammed Amin Adam, NPP MP for Karaga, as Minister of State at the Ministry of Finance, to replace Charles Adu Boahen, and elevated Osei Bonsu Amoah, NPP MP for Akuapem South, from a Deputy Minister of Local Government, Decentralisation and Rural Development to a Minister of State at the same ministry.

“As consequence of the nomination of Dr. Amin Adam as Minister of State at the Ministry of Finance, I want to inform Parliament that I intend to transfer Herbert Krapa to the Ministry of Energy as Deputy Minister for Energy,” the communication read.

As a result of the vacancy occasioned by the re-organisation of the government, President Akufo-Addo also nominated Dr. Stephen Amoah as Deputy Minister for Trade and Industry.

Spontaneous Laughter

The primetime announcement left lawmakers from the opposition NDC in fits of giggles, particularly the names of K.T. Hammond and Stephen Amoah.

Some of them were heard saying, “At long last” they have been offered the opportunity to serve in the government, having contributed in diverse ways to bring the government to power.

Minority Changes

Speaker Bagbin also announced the changes made at the leadership of the Minority bench, pledging his commitment to groom and empower the new leaders.

“Before I proceed further, let me recognise the new leadership of the Minority Caucus in Parliament. I was formally informed of the reshuffle of the leadership by the General Secretary of the National Democratic Congress, Hon Fiifi Fiavi Kwetey by a letter dated January 23, 2023,” he stated.

According to him, the new leaders have all been in the House for a while and are very conversant with the culture and law of Parliament.

“I have confidence in their ability to meet the high expectations of our stakeholders. On behalf of the House, and on my part, I warmly welcome them to the hot seats of the leadership of Parliament. Congratulations. I wish you well,” he said.

For the former members of the leadership, led by Haruna Iddrisu, the Speaker applauded them and said, “Their record of performance is visible for all to see, and I hope the new leadership will continue to draw from their fountain of wisdom, trove of wealth and experience.”

“I know what it entails, as a veteran of this journey and experience, to lead a populous Minority Caucus in Parliament. All I can say to the former leaders is, the Lord is your Shepherd, you shall not want. When one door closes, many doors open; and I tell you for sure, that many of the open doors are better and higher than the closed door,” he asserted.

BY Ernest Kofi Adu, Parliament House