17 Aspiring Candidates Disqualified As NPP Clears 325 For Parliamentary Elections

Stephen Ntim


The New Patriotic Party (NPP), governing party in Ghana, has cleared 325 aspirants to contest elections in constituencies where they currently have sitting Members of Parliament (MPs), according to party statement.

The announcement came after a rigorous selection process including vetting by the National Executive Committee (NEC), a vetting decision that saw 17 aspiring candidates disqualified.

In a bid to ensure strong representation, the NPP conducted thorough evaluations of all applicants before arriving at its final decision. Out of the 376 aspirants initially vying for candidacy, 17 failed to meet the party’s criteria and were consequently disqualified from the race.

Furthermore, three of the aspirants voluntarily stepped down from their campaigns, recognizing the ability and potential of their competitors.
This decision highlights the spirit of unity within the NPP and the willingness of candidates to prioritize the party’s success above their individual ambitions.

Surprisingly, at least 30 of the aspiring candidates will run unopposed in the upcoming parliamentary elections, scheduled for January 27, 2024.
This means that in these constituencies, the candidates have automatically secured their place on the ballot and will represent the NPP in the general elections in December.

Those who are going unopposed are the MP for Ayawaso West Wuogon and First Deputy Majority Chief Whip, Lydia Seyram Alhassan; MP for Okaikoi Central, Patrick Yaw Boamah; MP for Damongo and Minister of Lands and Natural Resources, Samuel Abu Jinapor; MP for Lambussie, Dr Bright Yelviedong Baligi; MP for Nandom and Minister for the Interior, Ambrose Dery; MP for Assin South and Deputy Minister of Education, Rev. John Ntim Fordjour, and MP for Upper Denkyira East, Dr Festus Awuah Kwofie.

The others are MP for Bosomtwe and Minister of Education, Dr Yaw Osei Adutwum; MP for Abetifi and Minister of Food and Agriculture, Dr Bryan Yaw Acheampong; MP for New Juaben South and Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry, Michael Okyere Baafi; MP for Upper West Akyem and a Deputy Minister of Transport, Frederick Obeng Adom; MP for Ejisu and a Deputy Minister of Finance, Dr John Ampontuah Kumah; MP for Effiduasi, Dr Nana Ayew Afriyie; MP for Offinso South, Isaac Yaw Opoku; MP for Akrofuom, Alex Blankson; MP for Tano South, Dr Benjamin Yeboah Sekyere; MP for Dormaa East, Paul Apreku Twum-Barimah and MP for Sefwi Akontombra, Alex Tetteh Djornobuah.

The rest are MP for Tolon and Second Deputy Majority Chief Whip, Alhaji Iddrisu Habib; MP for Karaga and Deputy Minister of State at the Ministry of Finance, Dr Mohammed Amin Adam; MP for Gushegu and Deputy Minister of Transport, Alhassan Sulemana Tampuli; MP for Tatale/Sanguli and Deputy Minister of Roads and Highways, Thomas Mbomba; MP for Techiman South and Deputy Minister of Local Government, Decentralisation and Rural Development, Martin Kwaku Adjei-Mensah Korsah.

However, not all processes have gone smoothly. One aspiring candidate has recently taken legal action, seeking an interlocutory injunction on their constituency primary. This move brings attention to potential disputes and disagreements within the party at that particular constituency, and the court will ultimately determine the outcome of the case.

The party has temporarily halted its parliamentary primaries in the Nhyiaeso Constituency following the filing of an interlocutory injunction by the aspirant.

This development has led to the postponement of the elections in response to the legal challenge.

Nevertheless, the NPP remains focused on the vital task of selecting parliamentary candidates to represent the party in various constituencies. The party has already completed the selection process in constituencies where they do not have sitting MPs, referred to as “orphan constituencies.” For these areas, the NPP has identified suitable candidates to represent their interests and vision.

As the date for the primaries in constituencies won during the 2020 polls approaches, the NPP is prepared to witness a robust democratic process. The anticipated election on January 27, 2024, will gather NPP delegates who will be responsible for selecting parliamentary candidates in their respective constituencies.

The NPP primaries are viewed as a crucial step in solidifying party unity and preparing for the general elections later in the year. With 325 candidates cleared to contest, the NPP aims to field strong representatives who will champion the party’s agenda and secure victory for the NPP in December.

The NPP party officials remain optimistic about the outcome of the forthcoming primaries, as they continue to promote transparency and fairness within the selection process.

The NPP is confident that the chosen candidates will not only uphold the party’s values but also resonate with the electorate, ensuring a strong and united NPP presence in the Ghanaian parliament.

By Vincent Kubi

Tags: ,