Kan- Dapaah, Others Miss Out On Cabinet

Albert Kan-Dapaah

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo appears to have ‘reshuffled’ his cabinet for his second term as president, dropping some key ministers from his new cabinet.

While the key ministries of justice, finance, interior, defence, agriculture and foreign affairs remain part of the new cabinet, new ministries like railways development and works and housing have been added.

The Speaker of Parliament, Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin, read the newly constituted 19-member cabinet list in Parliament yesterday after the list was sent to him from the Presidency.

This is seen as the first cabinet ‘reshuffle’ carried out by President Akufo-Addo since being sworn in for a second term after winning the 2020 presidential election.

Among the ministers dropped from cabinet, according to the 19-member cabinet list, is the National Security Minister, Albert Kan-Dapaah who is responsible for the formulation, coordination, monitoring and evaluation of the implementation of security and intelligence policies.

Roads and Highways Minister, Kwasi Amoako-Atta; Communications and Digitalisation Minister, Ursula Owusu-Ekuful; and Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation Minister, Dr. Kwaku Afriyie have also been dropped.

The 19-member cabinet ministers are Ken Ofori-Atta of Finance; Godfred Yeboah Dame, Attorney-General and Minister of Justice; Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen of Trade and Industry; Dominic Nitiwul of Defence;  Ambrose Dery of Interior and Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration.

Others are Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto of Food and Agriculture; Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh of Energy;  Yaw Osei Adutwum of Education; Kwaku Agyeman Manu of  Health;  Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu of Parliamentary Affairs; Daniel Botwe of Local Government and  Rural  Development, and Samuel Abdulai Jinapor of  Lands and Natural Resources.

The rest are Cecilia Abena Dapaah of Water and Sanitation; John Peter Amewu of Railways Development; Ignatius Baffour Awuah of Employment and Labour Relations; Mavis Hawa Koomson of Fisheries & Aquaculture; Dr. Alhaji Ibrahim Awal Mohammed of Tourism & Culture and Francis Asenso-Boakye of Works and Housing.

By Ernest Kofi Adu, Parliament House