NPP Begins Vetting Today

Evans Nimako

THE RULING New Patriotic Party (NPP) has fixed dates for the vetting of its aspiring national officers, beginning from today, May 28, 2018.

About 43 aspirants have reportedly submitted their nomination forms at the party’s headquarters at Asylum Down in Accra.

Acting Director of Research and Elections of the NPP, Evans Nimako, in a notice issued on behalf of the National Elections Committee of the party, asked the 14 candidates aspiring for the Nasara Coordinator position to appear before the Elections Committee today.

The aspirants are Ahmed Zaruk Nuhu, Alhaji Rashid Adam, Alhaji Shuaibu Musah Shariff, Abdul Aziz Harunafuta, Ali Suraj, Alhaji Aminu Abu, Baba Gado Ibrahim, Salifu Yahaya Bo, Abubakari Sulemana aka Lakulaku, Abdulai Iddrisu Dipantiche, Dauda Abdula Rahman Duodu, Kazeem Ibrahim, Sulemana Alhassan Atakpo and Abdul-Rahman Diallo.

On Tuesday, May 29, all the three candidates for the National Organizer position – Sammi Awuku, Emmanuel Tweneboah and Sulemana A. Sadik Nabicheinga – are expected to appear before the Committee for screening.

On the same day, the two National Women’s Organizer aspirants – Joyce Konokie Zimpare and Kate Gyamfua – as well as the National Youth Organizer aspirants, Dominic Kwesi Eduah, Henry Nana Boakye, Emmanuel Nana Bediako and Kamal-Deen Abdulai, are expected to face the committee.

For those aspiring for the General Secretary slot, namely John Boadu and Richard Ahiagbah, they are due for vetting on Wednesday, May 30.

Also on Wednesday, the candidates for the National Treasurer position – Kwabena Abankwah-Yeboah, Abraham Oben Amoakohene, Nuhu Bayorbo Mahama, Mary Posch-Oduro, Haji Ruka Ahmeed and Kwabena Oppong Frimpong are expected to be vetted.

Thursday, May 31, will see all the seven National Vice Chair aspirants being screened. They are F.F. Antoh, Ken-Wuud Nuworsu, Agnes A. Chigabatia, George Isaac Amoo, Vida Agyekum Acheampong, Michael Omari Wadie and Rita Talata Asobayire.

Finally on June 1, the five candidates vying for the National Chairman slot, namely Freddie Worsemawu Blay (who is the current Acting Chairman of the party), Alhaji Abubakar Abdul-Rahman, Stephen Ayensu Ntim, Dr. Richard Amoako Baah and David Kankam Boadu will appear before the committee to be vetted.

According to the notice, under the Chairmanship of Rev. Dr. Asante Antwi, “All aspirants are hereby required to furnish the office of the Directorate of Research and Elections and Secretary to the National Elections Committee with all necessary and better particulars where appropriate.”

BY Melvin Tarlue